Singapore, Singapore – The Singapore Esports Association (SGEA) has today announced the esports athletes who will represent Singapore at the SEA Games 2019 from 30 November to 11 December 2019 in the Philippines.

In May, SGEA submitted its nomination list to the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC), after a rigorous national selection which started in February 2019. Six esports events will premiere in the SEA Games.

Twenty (20) athletes were eventually selected by the SNOC. Veteran athletes include DOTA 2 player, Wong “NutZ” Jeng Yih and StarCraft II player, Thomas “Blysk” Kopankiewicz.

SGEA has also partnered with Singapore’s Cybersports & Online Gaming Association (SCOGA) to provide sports science support, to prepare athletes for the Games. The program involves conditioning, preparation, and other support activities in the areas of psychology, nutrition, physical conditioning, well-being and lifestyle management.

“SCOGA has been investing into player training and development in the past 2 years with the support of the National Youth Council and industry partners,” says Nicholas Khoo, Chairman of SCOGA. “We are excited to support our players for the SEA Games and hope that many players will take advantage of the comprehensive programme we have put together with our partners to help them prepare for the games.”

Razer’s SEA Games Bootcamp held last September

Other Singaporean companies have also contributed to the support to the SGEA: Razer™, the leading global lifestyle brand for gamers organized the Razer SEA Games Esports Bootcamp and provided training peripherals for DOTA 2 teams, while telecommunications provider Singtel provided the training venue and facilities for the esports athletes.

“SGEA is thankful for the warm support from the Singapore esports community, Sports Singapore and the SNOC,” says Ng Chong Geng, President of SGEA. “We look forward to seeing our athletes represent our country and are eager to support them in the road to the competition.”

The 20 selected representatives with their respective titles are as follows:

Mobile Legends: Bang Bang

Evos Esports:

  1. Akihiro “JPL” Furusawa
  2. Andrew “Potato” Lim
  3. Boon “OhDeerBambi” Wei Xing Robert
  4. Chong “Soul” Ru Chyi
  5. Tan “Ace” Zheng Wei

Arena of Valor


  1. Bjorn “Zeys” Ong
  2. Dabbie “813” Lim Chin Hong
  3. Ng “Elespresso” Ye Lun Renfred
  4. Ong “Yueyah” Jing Song
  5. Lee “Marclaren” Cheng Hiang Marcus

Dota 2

  1. Wong “NutZ” Jeng Yih
  2. Lukman “Luk” Yusoff Bin Nooraznan
  3. Teo “Tudi” Yao Wen
  4. Wilson “Poloson” Koh Chin Wei
  5. Joel “Chibix” Chan Jian Yong

Starcraft II

  1. Toh “Lobo” Wei Liang Alvin
  2. Thomas “Blysk” Kopankiewicz

Tekken 7

  1. Ruslan “Lan94” Bin Abd Rahman


  1. Chew “Khaius” Khai Kiat
  2. Benjamin “SGAhIce” Isa Roberts


The Singapore Esports Association (SGEA) is the national governing body for esports in Singapore. It was founded in 2018 to promote and facilitate the participation of Singapore in regional and international events and competitions in the area of esports excellence and to develop and promote esports.